The Reader on the 6.27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent

 

Publishers Synopsis
Guylain Vignolles lives on the edge of existence. Working at a book pulping factory in a job he hates, he has but one pleasure in life…sitting on the 6.27 train each day Guylain recites aloud from pages he has saved from the jaws of his monstrous pulping machine. But it is when he discovers the diary of a lonely young woman, Julie, a woman who feels as lost in the world as he does that his journey begins…The Reader on the 6.27 is a tale bursting with larger than life characters, each of whom touches Guylain’ s life for the better. For fans of Smells and Mr Penumbra’ s 24 Hour Bookstore, this captivating novel is a warm, funny fable about literatures power to inflict even the most downtrodden of lives.
PUBLISHER: Pan Macmillen.

My challenge to read Waterstones recommended ‪#‎FictionBookOfTheMonth‬ continued with May’ s selection, the delightful and charming The Reader on the 6.27.

There is a quote on the book and Waterstones web site by Livres Hebdo that sums up the books charm.
“A beautiful testimony to the universality of the love of books.”

It was a labour of love to read this book. From the first page, Didierlaurent gives us in Guylain a character who has an almost symbiotic relationship with words and books, through which he develops relationships with those who love to hear him read. Reading truly is Guylain’s friend and companion, a powerful and emotional reflection of how reading can provide companionship and forge friendships. The supporting cast of characters, are drawn to him, because his reading brings light into an otherwise dull journey to work or because they are isolated as age afflicts them.

Reading is a positive and uniting influence in this wonderful, funny and heart warming book. It’s a little gem and deserves a large audience of readers. Short and sweet, it shows the reading community for the generous and caring group it is. Books are read in isolation, but readers are passionate and caring people who like to share the books they enjoy.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s