Review ~ Blog Tour ~ Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner.

Lies Between Us

Will they ever learn the truth?
Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . .

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Shari Lapena and Lisa Jewell.

Review

I would like to thank the author Ronnie Turner and publisher HQ for the ARC in return for an honest review.

Having read Ronnie Turner’s cleverly crafted book reviews, I was thrilled to be included in the list of bloggers given the opportunity to review her first publication.

Turner has produced three fascinating characters whose stories are each in separate threads. I don’t suppose your meant to choose the psychopath as your favourite character, but he is and I would go as far as to say that he is probably my favourite villain of 2018 so far.  Miller is fascinating, repulsive and left me with a feeling of creeping unease every time he appeared.  I know he is controlling, cruel and manipultive, yet he is also capable, just like a chameleon of presenting a more likeable personality to those around him. As a result he is a great creation by an author for whom this is her first novel.  When you add in John whose life becomes mired in grief and fear and Maisie whose secrets threaten to destroy her, what you get is a tale layered which fascinating characters, who fill the novel with their personalities.

What I loved about this story is that it kept me guessing right until the last page. I admit I’m not the best in guessing how a story will end, but here the writer went that extra mile, forcing me to question my assumptions at the end of nearly every chapter.  I was hooked in and didn’t want to put it down, but my boss made me! At all other times I was addicted to Turner’s rich and fascinating tale.

It really is a gripper!

Besides the traditional elements of a thriller, what I loved about Lies Between Us was the depiction of the emotional impact brought about by events within the novel on the characters.  The grief and fear experienced by John and Maisie felt very real, the writing embodied the plethora of what felt like very real emotions that such characters would suffer. It was powerful stuff, balanced out by a haunting depiction of a human who is incapable of sharing these emotions, because he is emotionally crippled.

Turner cleverly combines the three different story arcs, but if I had one quibble and it’s a tiny one, the way they flick back and forth between the present and the past, it occasionally gets a bit confusing. This bit of the narrative could have been tightened up, but other than that, it s an accomplished, complex and exciting read.

I am really looking forward to more novels from Ronnie Turner.

You can purchase Lies Between Us from Kobo, Google playAmazon UK and Itunes.

About the author

Author Photo 2.jpg

Ronnie Turner grew up in Cornwall, the youngest in a large family. At an early age, she discovered a love of literature and dreamed of being a published author. Ronnie now lives in Dorset with her family and three dogs. In her spare time, she reviews books on her blog and enjoys long walks on the coast. She is currently working on her second novel.

Ronnie’s debut novel, Lies Between Us, will be published by HQ Digital in October 2018.

The author can be followed on Twitter, Facebook, Instagramwebsite and Goodreads.

LiesBetweenUs_BlogTourBanner4

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s