My Wonderful Reading Year – July 2023 – The Journey Continues.

Working life still busy at the moment, so it was another quiet reading month. But I now have the mindset that as long as I enjoy the books I’ve read, then that really is the best thing for me at the moment. I am glad to say that I have, opting for a few feel good books, full of positive messages about community and connection.

Fiction

The Vintage Shop by Libby Page

Having loved the Lido by the same author, I decided to give this one a try and I loved it. The author has the knack of writing books that tackle important issues and yet at the same time feel ultimately positive and highly enjoyable. Just what I needed and I loved it.

The Island Home by Libby Page

In need of more books by the same author, I downloaded The Island Home onto my kindle and dived right in. Wonderful read and full of her very particular style of weaving a sense of community into her narrative.

Kindred by Octavia E Butler

This was the pick for the July book club and it was a wonderful success. I loved the time travel element and how she brought the life of a slave plantation to life so vividly.

One by Eve Smith

Eve Smith has the remarkable ability to take current events and weave them into a story of how they may shape a future, that is devoid of all the things we should love and protect.

Non-Fiction

The Inside Job by Dr Rebecca Myers

Not an easy read, but one that takes us into the world of sex offenders and attempts to rehabilitate them. I don’t normally issue trigger warning about books, but I will on this one, because for many it will be too painful a read. It is fascinating, sometimes uncomfortable, but a necessary read.

Bring on August 2023.

Leave a comment