My Wonderful Reading Year – September 2023 – The Journey Continues.

Reading remains something I struggle to concentrate on at the moment, this partly being the reason I have stopped reviewing books for a few months, I just won’t be able to do them justice! But I want to keep my reading diary updated, so I can look back on 2023 and celebrate the books I have read and enjoyed.

The Familiars by Stacey Hall

A haunting tale of a connection between two women and the danger this brings to both of their lives. Set during the witch trails, it is a story of bravery and cruelty. Having read one of the authors other books, I looked forward to reading this one and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Ghost Signs- Poverty and the Pandemic by Stu Hennington

This is the story of one mans lockdown during the pandemic, the poverty he witnessed in his time delivering food parcels and the effect it had on his mental health. Not an easy read, but an important one, because he shines a light on the endemic poverty that was worsened by Covid 19, not caused by it.

Well onwards and hopefully upwards to October!

Leave a comment